Looker offers admins several folders for managing unused and unwanted content. The **Unused content** and **Trash** folders are located under the **Folders** item in the [main navigation panel](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/finding-content.md.txt).

You should periodically go through these folders to delete content that isn't needed.

## Unused content

The **Unused content** folder lists dashboards and Looks that haven't been viewed within the past 90 days, or within a time range that you can specify.

To learn more about managing content in the **Unused content** folder, see the [Managing unused content](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/manage-unused-content.md.txt) page.

## Trash

> [!NOTE]
> **Note:** Only Looker admins can see the **Trash** folder.

The **Trash** folder shows you any dashboards or Looks that were deleted by users (these dashboards and Looks are also called "soft-deleted"). You can select any number of dashboards and Looks, and then choose what to do with them --- permanently delete them or restore them. You can also sort the thumbnails by using the **Sort by** drop-down menu in the top right of each section.

To restore or permanently delete content, follow these steps:

1. Select the dashboards and Looks that you want to restore or permanently delete:
   - Select all dashboards or all Looks in the **Dashboards** or **Looks** section of the list using the **Select All** button and then the **Select all x Looks** or **All x dashboards** option that appears.
   - Select individual dashboards or Looks by using the checkbox in the same row.
2. Click the **Restore** button to move the selected content back to folders. Or click the **Delete** button to *permanently* delete the content. Deleting content here cannot be undone.

Alternatively, to delete **all** Looks and dashboards from the list, click the **Delete All** button at the top of the page. Any schedules or alerts that are affiliated with a dashboard or Look will also be deleted. The alert or schedule owner will see immediately that the name of the dashboard has been deleted for the alert on the [**Manage Alerts** user page](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/user-alerts.md.txt) or for the schedule on [**Schedules You've Created** user page](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/user-schedules.md.txt) in Looker. After the next time the alert or schedule query runs, its status will show as **Disabled**.

> [!TIP]
> **Tip:** You can also use the Looker API to permanently delete [Looks](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/reference/looker-api/latest/methods/Look/delete_look.md.txt), [dashboards](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/reference/looker-api/latest/methods/Dashboard/delete_dashboard.md.txt), and [entire folders](https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/reference/looker-api/latest/methods/Folder/delete_folder.md.txt).

If you restore a dashboard or a Look, it will return to the folder that it was deleted from, *if* that folder still exists. Otherwise, the content will be saved to the folder of the admin who restores the content.

Content in the **Trash** folder does not expire and will remain until you restore or permanently delete it.